2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Unwinding

4 Comments

IMG_2689

I’ve recently reverted to a childhood pleasure: colouring books. This is mainly because of a lovely Christmas gift from my other half of the above book: Secret Garden by Johanna Basford. This amazing book takes colouring to a completely new level – with its minute detail and stunning designs it’s really not aimed at children. Having a quick look around the web today too, it was clear to see that lots of people use it in just the same way I do: it’s a great way to switch off and wind down.

IMG_2692I’ve been using Stabilo pens (pictured on my blogpost here last year) to colour mine and they seem to work really well, they have fine points but also enable you to colour larger areas without leaving too many tide marks. If you’re a frustrated artist looking for something creative and quick, do try this book – I’m planning on framing some of the pages when I finish them as they’re so lovely.

IMG_2693

In addition to my artistic endeavours, I’ve been trying a new scone recipe today:Blueberry, lime and coconut scones from a Jo Wheatley recipe in Sainsbury’s mag this month. They were absolutely delicious, but I had to use almost double the amount of milk stated to get the dough to bind together – maybe my lime was a bit small. I always find that’s a problem when recipes just state ‘juice of a lemon/lime/orange’ as the amount of juice you get varies widely. Beautiful combination of flavours though, highly recommended 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Unwinding

  1. I love that! Colouring in is awesome. It’s one of my favourite parts of my job as a nanny.

  2. Do the Stabilo pens bleed from one page to the next? Been thinking about getting hold of this book!

    • They do a little bit – I’ve ended up just colouring in every other page, but even with that there’s enough to keep you happily colouring for years. The great thing about the Stabilos is that you don’t get any pen marks at all, just good even colour, even on large areas.

Leave a Reply

