2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

On making time

4 Comments

Title of this post is quite ironic really as my poor OH has just spent the last half an hour trying to get WordPress to upload my pics – don’t know if any of you have had problems with this in the last week or so, but looking at the forum it seems I’m not alone with this glitch. Photos keep vanishing and reappearing on my site. But they’re back for now…where was I? Ah yes. Making time.

IMG_2493

IMG_2496If a sunny Saturday morning isn’t a good reason to create some time, I’d like to know what is.

IMG_2497A bee floated by me as I took the photo above and the garden was full of birdsong.

IMG_2498Laptop & weekend work schedule abandoned, we headed for the woods and the sea:

IMG_2501

IMG_2504The storms here on the north west coast haven’t been as bad as many other parts of the UK, but there’s still been a fair bit of coastal erosion. The dunes in particular have seen some dramatic ‘blow outs’ – in one place the sand had virtually covered a small wood and it was extremely weird to be wading about in sand amongst the tops of its branches…

IMG_2505It’s hard to tell scale here, but this ravine is about 50 feet deep, amazing wind sculpture on the sides, looks like sandstone until you touch it and realise it’s actually still just sand.

IMG_2506Clear skies across to Wales – and so much sand blowing along the beach that we felt like we’d been scoured by the time we got back to the woods.

January and February have been busy, exciting and rewarding months, but what I need more than anything right now is some calm, settled weather, sunshine and longer days, and a gentle glide into spring.

 

4 thoughts on “On making time

  1. I’m quite envious at this moment looking at these images…
    such lovely spring crocuses… and the sea… sigh…

    • Ah, but your frost pics are lovely too! I think we’ve only had 2 days of frost this year and I have missed that cold crispness…though that isn’t a request for cold weather from now on thanks 🙂

  2. Beautiful photos. Makes me feel quite homesick for the north west. I also get views of Wales when I’m back home but by the looks of it you’re a little further north than where I grew up. A beautiful coast when the weather’s nice. Here’s to your gentle glide into spring x

Leave a Reply

