2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Here comes the sun!

6 Comments

So fantastic to see blue skies this morning, and great mood booster. I have to say I was not in a good state of mind this morning: I’ve just been experiencing that horrible realisation that the hair cut I had on Friday that looked fab in the hairdressers, when washed and styled by me today makes me look like I cut it myself in a fit of temper. Why does this happen?? If any of you have hints on how to make an angled bob lie flat and look like it’s angled, rather than that you just stuck a bowl on your head and cut around it, please comment: I’ll be very grateful.

So while my lovely other half has gone to do the food shop so I could calm down (‘I can tell you’re not really up to it’), I thought a blog post would be just the thing to take my mind off it. So what’s been happening? Lots of cooking good stuff like the garlic and rosemary focaccia he made last week:

IMG_2428

Quite a bit of embroidery – really like the way the black embroidery over the colours makes it look like the leading on a Tiffany lamp:

IMG_2430And some admiring of the spring flowers that are starting to appear in the garden. So lovely to see colour again after all the grey and rain of January.

IMG_2436

IMG_2440The first crocuses are really starting to open out now, and saw the first of the Iris reticulatas this morning too.

IMG_2435These are incredibly tiny – the whole flower is about half the size of my thumb at the moment.

The hellebores are also getting into their stride – I’ve seen people arrange these by floating the flowerheads in a bowl like waterlilies, which is a great idea as the centres are so spectacular and you can’t admire them properly when they’re hanging down.

IMG_2444

Ah. That’s better. Diversionary tactics worked nicely. The haircut will grow out, and it’s not that big a deal in the scheme of things. Shining sun, spring on the way and a partner who’ll do a dull chore on his own to give me some time out – that’s the important stuff that’s worth celebrating.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Here comes the sun!

  1. So glad you got some bright blue skies this morning, it’s amazing how the weather can affect ones state of mind. Oh gosh I can relate to the frustration with trying to style your hair. I’ve been so unhappy with my own hair lately. Sorry I don’t have any advice, just empathy… That focaccia bread looks delicious, oh how I do love bread! Your embroidery work is impressive, and it’s so wonderful to see the lovely spring blooms! Great diversionary tactics! 😀

  2. Lovely to see your spring bulbs coming through – I am waiting with bated breath here for some colour in the garden – feels like such a long time coming. The focaccia looks very tempting. I seem to have lost your blog off my blogroll so have not ssen your recent post. Will remedy that now 🙂

    • It all seems to have suddenly started happening here this week – the daffodils have opened in the last couple of days too, such a relief to be getting more light each day! Sure it’ll be in your neck of the woods soon too 🙂

  3. Love those crocuses – what are they? I’d get a pair of GHD straighteners for the bob 🙂

    • The ones on this post are Crocus tommasinianus, they’re a species crocus and I love them because they’re earlier than the Dutch hybrids and they seed themselves everywhere – I got about 10 bulbs quite a few years back and they’ve spread a lot since then! Also have a load in the front garden, they’re even coming up between the gaps in the paving.
      Bob is improving – time heals all 🙂

Leave a Reply

