2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Recharging my batteries

8 Comments

It’s Friday afternoon, I have a host of work that I should be doing, but I know my brain is tired. So I’m stopping. Doing stuff I enjoy, that engages my senses, reduces the stress response – and returns me fresher and brighter afterwards. So on the agenda is:

Embroidery – I’ve been working on this kit since Christmas and am so enjoying doing this for the first time in years.

IMG_2399Stroll round the garden – looks like it’s going to be an early spring this year with a few flowers already out like hellebores,

IMG_2404

IMG_2405heather,

IMG_2402and the silvery seed pods of honesty just hanging on.

IMG_2411A little light baking – I’m planning on making a lemon drizzle cake from this month’s Sainsbury’s magazine.

Reading – currently enjoying ‘By Blood’ by Ellen Ullman, unsettling and gripping tale of someone who overhears sessions with an analyst in the room next door…

A long, hot bath with the luxurious smellies I got for Christmas.

Browse through the blogs I follow.

Spot of meditation…

I feel better already – what have you got planned to help you wind down this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Recharging my batteries

  1. That book sounds amazing – creepy! I have requested it from my library! I have a surprise birthday meal with the family for my dad’s birthday tomorrow – apart from that I will be doing similar things to you (even if they are not what I am “supposed” to be doing).

    Enjoy your afternoon and weekend of winding down!

    Emma

    • Ooh, let me know what you think of it when you get it – I’m halfway through at the moment and am loving it. Reading it with a mug of cocoa at the moment and enjoying the feeling of indulgence – enjoy your weekend too, ‘supposed’ stuff can wait till Monday!
      Mandy

  2. I love that embroidery! Is it crewel, or something using wool, rather than stranded cotton?

    • That’s right, it’s crewel with wool – I love the way you get the textured effect. I’ve done a bit more of this now and it’s looking really nice so will try to do another shot at the weekend. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

