2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Back in the flow

Leave a comment

Well, that was a long break. And I realised that a lot of the tension I’ve been feeling the last few weeks was down to not taking enough time out to pause and reflect – so, back to some therapeutic blogging. It has been such a fantastic summer this year – some of the August highlights below:

IMG_1698Great sunsets – we’re really lucky to live near the coast and so if it looks like it’s going to be a spectacular one (and often you can’t tell till the very last minute) it’s less than 5 minutes to nip down the road and watch it set over the beach and marshes. And if there’s no time to do even that, the garden makes a very nice backdrop.

IMG_1706Vibrant flowers – I love our native wild flowers and cottage garden plants, but there’s something about the bold splashes of colour you get from late summer flowers like Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’…

IMG_1708Shocking pink phlox – these are from a cutting from my mum’s garden, she’s grown them since I was at infant school.

IMG_1717

IMG_1718

Golden Heleniums – this is the first year I’ve grown these, bought a plant for 30p from a guy down the road and they’ve been flowering for weeks now.

IMG_1716And can’t wait for this sunflower to open! Just a chance seedling that came up in one of my pots, probably from feeding the birds in winter.

IMG_1715Delightful cakes – this was a raspberry strudel one I made a couple of weeks ago; last week I did a blackberry and nutella one and I’ve got a blackberry, apple and almond one in the oven as I type this. The blackberries will probably be a recurrent theme over the next few weeks as it looks like being a bumper crop.

IMG_1707

IMG_1720

Signs of autumn – yes, even though it’s hot outside, the rowan berries and rose hips are turning red already…and the air’s got that golden tinge to it that’s telling me to make the most of it while it lasts – so I’m off in the garden!

Leave a Reply

