2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

And breathe out…

Leave a comment

It’s been such a hectic few days – hectic in a good way but even so I was still feeling more than ready to take some time out today after a 5am start. By 3pm I was slumped over my laptop with my brain struggling to come up with anything creative, and then I suddenly remembered – I can take a break any time I want now I work for myself! And seeing as I’d just completed 10 hours solid graft, I headed for the kitchen, turned my playlist on Grooveshark up loud, and lost myself in the soothing process of rubbing butter into flour to make shortcrust pastry for tonight’s tea. Doing something with my hands other than typing was just what I needed, and I quickly found the pressure dissolving away as I just focussed on the task in hand.

My pastry never really turns out as I’d like it to, whatever recipe I use – it’s always a bit more flaky than I think it should be. I don’t know why that is – I seem to do the rubbing in Ok, keep everything cool, and rest the pastry before I roll it out, but there’s clearly something I’m missing – tips anyone? I was using it tonight to make the topping of a ‘Fantaffy Pie’, another one from Pieminister (fast becoming one of my favourite recipe books) – leeks, celery, onions, cream, caerphilly cheese, potatoes, wine and toasted hazelnuts.

IMG_1179And I want you all to note the smaller piece cut out in the pic below was mine – OH got the rest of the half. My self control knows no bounds. Or maybe the raspberry flapjack I had a bit earlier had taken the edge off 🙂

IMG_1181

Leave a Reply

