2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Running free

Leave a comment

Today’s been a really good day! I went for not just one but two runs! In case that sounds too impressive, I should probably qualify it by saying that they were just round my block (a whole 0.7134 miles – thanks http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/!) But that’s nearly a mile and a half, and the second time I did it without stopping, so really pleased. Had a very intensive day slaving over a hot laptop, so that slap of fresh (sorry, icy) air at lunch and before tea really brightened me up – and only took about 10 mins each time.

I do like the idea of taking regular exercise breaks when I’ve been hunched over typing for too long, but often find it hard to tear myself away. Doing the runs at bigger punctuation points in the day made sense, and seemed less daunting than finding a bigger chunk of time for a longer run – I haven’t managed to fit one of those in for a while. Plus, research recently has shown that shorter bursts of exercise can be more effective than prolonged ones – so a definite winner http://www.nhs.uk/news/2013/02February/Pages/Short%20bursts-of-exercise-good-for-heart.aspx

Last year I was about to give up on running – no matter how much I practiced, I never could build up the ability to run more than the space between 2 lampposts without getting out of breath. Then a blood test showed I was highly anaemic and I started taking iron tablets – and have never looked back. Having had asthma for more than 20 years I assumed that had been my problem – turned out there was just so little iron in my blood there was nothing moving oxygen to my lungs.

So I enjoyed getting these on again today, and hopefully it won’t be so long before we head out together again.

IMG_1061

Leave a Reply

