2016: the year of spaciousness

Because there's more to life than work

Fresh air

1 Comment

After a morning of meetings and Skype calls, my head was buzzing and my brain felt fuggy. So I gave myself the treat I’m still relishing of being able to take a break in the middle of the day, and went for a 10 minute walk round the block. I live in a fairly urban area – not a city, but a big town without any real countryside in easy reach – but if you shut your eyes on a day like today you wouldn’t have known that. There was a watery sun, birds singing, not a soul on the streets as it was before the school rush, and it freshened me up perfectly.

I’m learning that I really don’t work well in traditional three or four hour blocks, and I suspect that’s true of most other people too. But it’s an easy way to enable controlling and monitoring of employees…which I’m not any more. Plus point number one of this new adventure.

It also gave me chance to see what was coming up in our front garden at first hand:

IMG_1052

So I’m not a garden photographer – but sometimes it’s just nice to record spring as it happens, as it’s always over so quickly. These are two of my favorite flowers, crocuses and celandines, that seed themselves everywhere in perfect combinations.

My partner suggested that it might be good to have a theme each week to help me focus on what to write, so I’m going to be starting with considering how best to take breaks – looking forward to it already.

One thought on “Fresh air

  1. Pingback: Spring’s on its way! | 2014: the year of discovery

Leave a Reply

